Search Text:  

Photo of children and teacher

Members Login ::

Forgot Password?   Register Here

Connect with IASB

Facebook Icon Facebook


Twitter Icon Twitter 

YouTube Icon YouTube 

Email Icon Email List 


Convention Save the Date

Member Benefits

The Carolyn Jons
Better Boardsmanship Award

Honoring the work of school, AEA and community college board members in Iowa.


Recognizing that learning and leadership on the part of board members makes a difference, at the board table and for students, IASB has developed an awards program to recognize board members who put forth extra time and energy to strengthen their boardsmanship abilities through formal inservice programs and services to other board members.

Through this program, individual board members receive credits for a wide range of activities. Board members are eligible to receive an Award of Achievement certificate for earning credits in one year. An Award of Achievement plaque is presented to a whole board when a majority of its board members receive certificates for the year and the board has a policy that supports board development. An Award of Honor is given to each superintendent, AEA administrator or community college president who completes the eligibility requirements with at least two board members in the district, AEA or community college who have earned certificates.

All board members have until August 1, 2014, to apply for the award based on activities during the 2013-14 school year. For information on applying, contact C.J. Bloyer at IASB, 1-800-795-4272, ext. 246.

Our Members Say

Member Benefits A-Z